Benco Dental Recognizes Women in Dentistry with Lucy Hobbs Project

The Lucy Hobbs Project aims to recognize women in dentistry who have achieved and innovated in their respective fields.

Benco Dental is recognizing women in dentistry through its Lucy Hobbs Project. Benco Dental’s Lucy Hobbs Project® Awards are meant to honor women in dentistry who show the same compassion and innovation as its namesake Dr Lucy Hobbs Taylor. Dr Hobbs earned her dental degree in 1866 in spite of adversity to create a larger space for women in dentistry. The 6 award recipients for 2021 are as follows in no particular order.

  • Carole Ann Boyd, DDS, recipient of the Industry Icon award. Dr Boyd has been an oral health care humanitarian for 37 years. She has shown a commitment to the dental health of the LGBTQ+ community in her dignified dental health care of HIV- and AIDs-positive patients during a time when the disease carried a large stigma. Dr Boyd created the Ryan White Dental Clinic at the San Antonio AIDS Foundation, among a plethora of other accomplishments that demonstrate compassion and empathy.
  • Kajuana Farrey Sutton, DMD, CEO, recipient of the Clinical Expertise Aware. Dr Farrey Sutton has established throughout her career a variety of dental education and oral heatlh care in spaces wherein it previously did not exist. She became the first African American female dentist to the country to cofound a dental health community center and has received numerous accolades for her research, professionalism, and clinical expertise.
  • Meenal Patel, DMD, FAGD, FICOI, recipient of the Humanitarian Award. Dr Patel is noted for her commitment to acts of service in her community by way of dentistry and community partnerships. She has founded Preston Dental Loft, and volunteers at various charities and services. Dr Patel provides dental care for underserved communities in Mexico as well as the Dominican Republic. She is a member at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and has received numerous fellowships and awards.
  • Brenda L. Hansen, Chief Executive Officer, recipient of the Innovator Award. Hansen designs and engineers products that serve pediatric dental patients. This includes biocompatible pediatric Zirconia crown and the first all-ceramic prefabricated crown for primary teeth. Hansen then went on to establish Sprig Oral Health Technologies along with 2 dentists, as well as Sprig University, which is a hands-on workshop that informs on how to install their products. Hansen focuses on leadership skills, planet protection, and the delivery of safe products for children.
  • Mary Kang, DDS, recipient of the Mentor Award. Dr Kang is a maxillofacial prosthodontist who serves as a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Ashman Department of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry at New York University. Dr Kang utilizes a patient-centric viewpoint which she honed during a fellowship at the UCLA School of Dentistry where she helped rehabilitate patients with trauma-induced head and neck injuries. Dr Kang is committed to educating others on complex and intricate treatments.
  • Jessica Sliger, DDS, recipient of the Woman to Watch Award. Dr Sliger has a pediatric dental practice in Bentonville, Arkansas wherein she spends much of her time creating instructional content in English and in Spanish to inform families on oral hygiene and nutrition. Dr Sliger shows a commitment to cultural competency while also spending time speaking and volunteering. Dr Sliger has received awards for her leadership and clinical excellence.

The Lucy Hobbs Project has 10,000 members and is said to be a strong resource for dental professionals to network, innovate, and give back to the community. It is free to join.